Jose Mourinho becomes the first Manchester United manager to win a trophy in his first season at the club (Community Shield excluded).

Jose Mourinho has won all four of the League Cup finals he has contested
(2005, 2007, 2015 and 2017).

Jesse Lingard has scored in each of his past 3 appearances at Wembley for
Man Utd (2016 FA Cup Final, Community Shield and League Cup final this season).

Zlatan Ibrahimovic has now scored 6 goals in his last 5 domestic cup finals
(4 goals in 4 games with PSG).

These were Ibrahimovic’s 25th and 26th goals of the season in all competitions, the most of any Premier League player this season.

Ibrahimovic’s opening goal was the first Southampton have conceded in the
League Cup this season, going 468 minutes without shipping a goal in the

Manolo Gabbiadini is the fourth Italian to score in the League Cup final (Fabrizio Ravanelli, Roberto di Matteo and Fabio Borini the others).

Manchester United have won each of their past 6 games at Wembley.
Only Liverpool (8) have won the League Cup more times than Manchester United (5).
Most successful English clubs in history:

Manchester United (41)
Liverpool (41)
Arsenal (29)
Chelsea (21)
Aston Villa (20)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *