UEFA announces punishments for Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal over ESL project

UEFA have asked the six Premier League clubs who tried to join the European Super League, to make a combined €15m goodwill contribution to benefit children’s and grassroots football across Europe.

The big six teams will also see 5 per cent of UEFA competition revenues withheld for one campaign.

The six clubs – Arsenal, Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool, Tottenham and Manchester City – have all signed a UEFA ‘club commitment declaration’ after backing down in the breakaway competition.

And each team faces a €100million (£87m) fine if they ever attempt to join another breakaway competition.

AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid have also climbed down in also committing to the existing international and national club competitions.

An official UEFA statement read: “Those nine clubs acknowledge and accept that the Super League project was a mistake and apologise to fans, national associations, national leagues, fellow European clubs and UEFA.

“They have also recognised that the project would not have been authorised under UEFA Statutes and Regulations.”

However, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus, have refused to leave the Super League. And UEFA says it will take “appropriate action” against the three teams.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Harry Kane pays tribute to 'special' Mason Mount

2 months ago
Harry Kane has paid tribute to ‘special’ Chelsea midfielder Mason Mount  and ‘fantastic’ Manchester City’s Phil Foden, with the England teammates set to meet in the Champions League final. Mount scored the Chelsea’s much needed second goal in a 2-0 victory over Real Madrid on Wednesday as Thomas Tuchel’s side […]
× Click Here To Make Advert Enquiry